Hello from a newbie I have an '83 Vee

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flymuck

Reaction score
Hi There,

Newbie dipping his toe in the Tokai water here, I thought I?d introduce myself and show you my Tokai Flying Vee.

I?m 41, live in the small town of Peterborough in the UK and married with kids. I found the registry whilst doing a google to try and get some info on this. I?ve put the details in the registry then joined here as I hope you might be interested in seeing it.

I started playing at school but wasn?t really interested so didn?t follow it up,. My kid brother (4 years younger than me) started playing and has become quite good. Around the late 80?s I decided to try again and asked him to find me something reasonable to learn on, he found the Vee, I think, in London (he lived down there then) . I do know it was a private sale and not from a shop, I don?t know if the previous owner bought it new or second hand.

Anyway my playing has been sort of on / off since then and I haven?t really got a whole lot better, I just don?t practice enough to be honest. I also own a Japanese Strat 57 re issue which to be honest I play a lot more than the Vee, something about the neck on the Vee makes it a bit more tricky and of course the Strat is a lot easier to sit down with, the Vee keeps sliding off my knee!

Anyway from searching your great forum I think I have a 1983 TFV-70. I?ve no idea if it is fully original although I certainly haven?t changed anything other than the strings.