Novice looking at buying 1st Tokai LP...

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

T-10

Reaction score
At the age of 40 I decided a month ago to have a go at learning to play guitar. Unable to justify the expense of a 'proper' guitar and amp I opted for a ?50 strat copy and amp to see if guitar was for me. Although I'm no natural, I'm enjoying it enough to know that I'll persevere, and think I'm ready for a better setup.

I like the idea of a Les Paul, especially having already got a strat (well sort of), and internet research lead me towards Tokai which seems to be the best of the copies. I have a few questions though, bearing in mind I'm a novice.

1 - I've seen mention of different neck profiles and fat necks. Maybe it's an optical illusion, but on photos of Les Pauls, the fretboard seems wider than a strat. Is this the case? I'm just wondering if this might be a problem with my smaller hands.

2 - I've learned that MIJ = Good, MIK = Bad, or at least less good. I don't want to spend an absolute fortune, but can you tell me how much better a guitar you get between spending say ?600 on LC70/80 or ?750 on an LS150?

3 - What's the difference between LS and LC (custom models)?

4 - A lot of differences between models just seems to be the type of wood used. Is this correct. Are there any constructions/finishes best avoided?
For instance, when I see the word laminated, should I be concerned?

5 - Who are the best people (with good prices) in the UK to buy from? I know of RichTone, Coda, Hartnolls, and Regents. Anyone else worth looking at.
5a - The guitar photos on Coda's website appear to be for used (and damaged) guitars. I presume that the prices are for new guitars?