Love Rock "50s" Wiring Mod

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bashbrook

Reaction score
..or "The Emperors New Love Rock"?

In a recent thread LondonBarry was asking if anyone had tried the "50s" wiring mod often mentioned on the Les Paul forum.
See: http://bellsouthpwp.net/t/a/tabreaux/LP_Wiring_Comparison.jpg
Just to say that I decided to give it a go and have just done the mod on my "clownburst" LS65 this afternoon.

I'm no expert in these things as my ears have never been the same since watching Motorhead in '79 (the Chemical Brothers have kindly finished things off in recent years!) but it seems to have made a difference.

There seems to be a touch more treble generally, particularly with both pickups on.
Turning down the volume keeps things brighter than it did, and rolling back the tone gives a more "focused" sound, a bit less like stuffing your speaker cabinet with old socks and covering it with a 20 tog duvet.

Just wondering of anyone else has tried this mod, and what they thought of it? I'm hoping that I'm not hearing things just because I've spent thirty quid on a soldering iron in Maplins - like some sort of "Emporers New Love Rock" scenario.

I'd also be interested if anyone has swapped out the capacitors and/or pots in their Love Rocks and what, if any, results were obtained.

Regards
Brendan

LondonBarry
The mod would only take five minutes for someone familiar with a soldering iron. As I'd never done any guitar mods before, I took things slowly and managed to retain most of my fingers and some of the kitchen table.

(By the way, all 4 pots in my 2000 LS-65 were 500k.)

Would I be right in assuming that by a more "agressive" capacitor, you mean a higher value? Presumably this will roll off more treble?