Is this a tokai goldstar please help?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markieb

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the registry and have really enjoyed looking through the posts at the superb Tokais you all own/play.

I too (believe!) I have a Tokai Goldstar but I cannot be sure as there is no headstock on it. I wondered if you could help me firstly identify it as a Tokai and then possibly date it. Any info would make me happy as, when you reach a certain age, you just need to know these things!

Please see this link for a selection of photos:

http://homepages.tesco.net/beez/album/

All I know is the following:

I bought the guitar on 22/9/1984 and was told it is a second hand Tokai (no more than that) - see receipt photo.

Details:

Neck:
Tuner keys are deluxe
Neck looks maple with skunk line
Think it is C profile neck (but not sure about the pofiles)
No decal
Has number 11=12 stamped at the base of the neck
Has crosshead neck rod

Body:
Bridge saddles are stamped final prospect
Pickups are grey with U stamp ? does this suggest a ST50?
Has 7=1 stamp (day/month produced?) plus initials FO (is this Flamingo Orange?
A250K stamped on the pots
Neck plate has 5 digits 11234
One ply pick guard (I think, but again don`t really know the difference)

Its the best guitar I have owned/played (in over 25 years) and is the only one for me.

Many thanks,

Mark

might be. I wouldn't pay much for it though (if its a good player) as there is no definitive proof that it's a Tokai