Greco SG damage - Rinkya purchase

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fiftywatt

Reaction score
I have been using Rinkya for around 4 years now and have acquired some fantastic Greco Mint Collection models.. mainly LP's, SG's, Explorers and such. I've probably done over a dozen Rinkya transactions. Never had a problem until yesterday. Purchased a minty clean '88 "61 SG" replica. YJ auction even had very detailed photos. Transaction went smoothly, shipping via EMS is what I always go with. It ain't cheap but it is fast. Rinkya seem to re-pack all guitars as their methods are always very careful. loosened strings, and the carton and tape is always uniformly the same. So I unbox my '88 Greco cherry red SG and start looking it over. It appears to be in virtually flawless shape until I notice the paint separation along the neck/body joint and a structural crack nearby. This guitar cannot be tuned to pitch as the crack opens up. Not good and I am stumped as to what to do. I suspect this guitar was dropped during repacking causing the damage. No idea if EMS shipping includes insurance for full value or not. This is not intended to be a horror story. I am really sharing this to see if any of you know what my next step should be. I have contacted my CC co. as well as Paypal as of last night. I am not sure if a refund or insurance claim on the damaged item is even possible. This is uncharted territory for me. I've bought MANY Greco LP's that were shipped in the padded gigbags with NO damage whatsoever. There was no damage to the shipping carton either. Guitar was packed perfectly. Again I suspect mishandling during the re-pack process prior to shipment out of Japan. Perhaps I am SOL.

fiftywatt said: