Edwards Les Paul Clones

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peacock72

Reaction score
Did the Lacquer Taste Series Les Pauls ever come with open coil Duncans? Just got one used off Ebay. The seller listed it as a 98LTS, but when I received the guitar I found the covers weren't soldered on the pickups and there was no evidence to suggest they ever were soldered. I believe the guitar is an '04. Serial # starts ED04... Any way to differentiate the different series via serial number? I'm not an expert on the feel of Nitro, but the finish certainly feels like Nitro and not a plasticy Poly. Great guitar and all of the Edwards hype is certainly well deserved. This guitar is soooo light! I lol when I pulled it from the box! Neck is nice and beefy too! Noticeably fuller than my Tokai LS200 and Burny Super Grade.

peacock72 said:
Did the Lacquer Taste Series Les Pauls ever come with open coil Duncans? Just got one used off Ebay. The seller listed it as a 98LTS, but when I received the guitar I found the covers weren't soldered on the pickups and there was no evidence to suggest they ever were soldered. I believe the guitar is an '04. Serial # starts ED04... Any way to differentiate the different series via serial number? I'm not an expert on the feel of Nitro, but the finish certainly feels like Nitro and not a plasticy Poly. Great guitar and all of the Edwards hype is certainly well deserved. This guitar is soooo light! I lol when I pulled it from the box! Neck is nice and beefy too! Noticeably fuller than my Tokai LS200 and Burny Super Grade.

I've not seen any of the Lacquer Taste series with open p'ups. Their Original Series had a couple of models with open pups - I think the quilt top did. Regardless, they are great guitars. Here's the link to the ESP/Edwards website where you can review most of the guitars.

http://www.espguitars.co.jp/edwards/index.html