1981 catalogue LS-50 "Polyester" finish versus "Polyurethane" finish used other years

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freebird

Reaction score
I've been looking at the available translation of 1981 Tokai catalogue (since I don't read Japanese) compared with the translation of Tokai catalogues from earlier and later years, specifically the polyester finish applied to the LS-50 model only in 1981. All the other catalogues indicate a polyurethane finish. I've never touched an LS-50 so I have no personal hands-on knowledge of the finish on these guitars. I have owned quite a few Grecos from the the 1980s with "poly" finishes ( always assuming it was polyurethane, sometimes described as "light poly") so I have idea what "poly" feels like on a Greco, with some of the finishes appearing thinner than others. I know that polyester and polyurethane can be applied thin to thick. I've seen guitars with chips out of the finish that expose just how thin or thick the "poly" is applied. Here's my questions: 1) for those who have experience with LS-50 from 1981 as well as older (e.g. 1978, 1979, 1980) or somewhat newer LS-50s (e.g. 1982), can you tell a difference in finishes? 2) if there is a difference, can you please describe it? 3) in general, are these finishes applied thin or thick? 4) if you've owned both, does a 1981 LS-50 "polyester" finish feel the same, and should it not really matter in terms of it's playability or value? 5) or, lastly, is the 1981 catalogue description (or the translation) simply not accurate?