Stevie Ray Vaughan Poster

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sigmania

Staff member
Reaction score
OK. I haven't seen this poster before but I am fairly new to Tokai collecting.

I have seen the catalog shot but never a full guitar, and Tommy Shannon playing a Tokai bass as well.

Very cool!

What would the date on this be? 1985?

Would love to know the history of this.

From the listing:

"This poster was published and distributed in JAPAN without the permission of SRV and/or his management ! It was to go to guitar shops that were TOKAI dealers...SRV management sent a cease and desist letter before many were sent out...an exact number of these printed, distributed and still out there is impossible to know ! I got this framed one from a TOKAI representative back in the 1980's. It is 20" wide by 24" tall and in excellent condition..."

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230994693004

From the album released just before his Japan tour.

I read somewhere it was a Tokai, but it looks more like his guitar "Charley" to me.

And then the guitar in the OP sold for over $20,000!

"STEVIE RAY VAUGHAN OWNED AND USED TOKAI GUITAR
1980s
A Tokai Stratocaster-style guitar, Serial No. 0800, natural cherry to black sunburst finish, double cutaway body, 21 fret fingerboard, with three standard Stratocaster-style single coil pickups, selector switch, three rotary controls and black pickguard, owned and used by Stevie Ray Vaughan on stage and in the studio. Vaughan also used this guitar in a Tokai promotional poster in which he can be clearly seen holding the instrument, a copy of which is also included. Also present is a letter of authenticity and an original hardshell case. "

http://www.christies.com/LotFinder/lot_details.aspx?intObjectID=4417853

And this with his signature before the Japan tour witnessed by his then wife, Lenora.