Gear Recommendation Between SS and ST + Identification

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FokC352

Reaction score
Hi!

I have been playing my decked out Squier SE for a few years now and I've been looking into an upgrade. A friend recommended to look into Tokais, as they're said to have surpassed Fender in all aspects. Now since I live in Eastern Europe and I'm a student, I can't really afford Springy Sounds, so I was looking at Goldstars (which for some reason are less expensive, perhaps someone could tell me why this is), or Silver Stars. Looking on reverb I came across the following listings:

https://reverb.com/item/52195694-tokai-goldstar-sound-st-type-electric-guitar-ref-no-4455

https://reverb.com/item/56490477-tokai-stratocaster-japan-silverstar-80s

So I have some questions (and sorry for being really new and possibly asking stupid questions, so I'd appreciate if anyone could help :D ) regarding these two:

1. Why is the Goldstar considerably less expensive? How can I tell if one's a fake?
2. Where could I see the exact specifications and dimensions for each model, and how to find exactly what model they are?
3. What exactly is the difference between the two?
4. And lastly, which one would you buy and why? Alternatively, which one do you recommend I throw my money at?

Thanks a lot for the answers!

Not sure where to start…

The two guitars you linked were built 30 years apart at two different factories just for starters. 1981 in Nagano and 2012 in Hamamatsu.

Springys were made from 1977 until 1984 and then were called Goldstars.

Silverstars had the CBS era headstock, three or four bolt neck, and generally sell for less probably because CBS era Strats sell for less. Some deals there for sure.

Each model has a range of specs. As you go up in price the hardware, pickups, construction, finish, etc. changes.