Breezysound Electronics

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tatter75

Reaction score
I recently bought a beautiful 83/84 Tokai Breezysound off ebay, which sounds fantastic, however when you turn the volume down the sound gets really thin and trebly. When i had a look inside i noticed it had 1 meg pots installed, i'm pretty sure this is wrong. As i'm not experienced with a soldering iron, does anyone know of anywhere i can buy a prewired telecaster kit that i can install with minimal fuss? I know Torres make one but that has 500k pots and a five position switch, i'm not sure if that is what i'm looking for.

Also when i touch the scratchplate below the neck pickup, i get a weird static noise which is a bit annoying!

If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated, thanks

250k is standard for singlecoils.

Guitar electronics is pretty simple stuff. It'd be a good learning experience to DIY and there's lots of help available on the web. Heck, if I can do the jimmy page mod in my LR then you can definately rewire a tele.

Hi Tatter ? agree with Paladin....soldering a few spots on a couple of pots is very easy?.don?t pay someone else to mess up your guitar with a complete new control kit :-? .

Static noise is usually due to your hand rubbing against the plastic pick-guard....try cleaning the guard with an anti-static spray/cloth?a different guard made of stiffer material may solve the problem completely, or try sticking aluminium foil on the back....but most buzzing noises are due to poor shielding & grounding (easily fixed) - http://www.guitarnuts.com/wiring/shielding/tele.php

250K pots will give a smoother tone & smoother taper, but 1Meg lets through more natural highs.....cap values also make a difference. See TDPRI Forum for much discussion of all this (inc. static, shielding, buzzing etc)
http://www.tdpri.com/ :-? .

Ian.