81 LS60 (Pics in post 2)

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chuckyz2

Tokai Supporter
Reaction score
edit:Added pics in next Post

Hi everyone.
I'm Chuck and I'm new
Just aquired a 81 LS60 in excellent
condition. Though I have read a lot
on here and elsewhere, I still have
a few q's about this guitar.
The Goutoh pickups, are they
as good as the Tokai labeled ones
that came in the LS80. And are there
other Tokai pickups besides those two
that are better still? I like the 59 Burst
tone and would like to get as close as
I can to resembling it.
The finish. I have heard it was Nitro
and that it wasn't Nitro. Which is it?
I'm a beginner player.
My player before this LS is a Samick
Artist Series LP 1999 Bubinga.
I really like the tone for what it is.
Warm. It has its limitaions though
and can get muddy. I am a beginner
hobbyist luthier and have aquired the
proper tools for fret leveling and after
doing the Sam it has a very low action
with no buzzing. I plan on doing the LS
soon but it is decent enough to play already.
The LS plays very nicely and the notes
chime just as I hoped they would. I have
a Marshall MG100 2009 on the half stack
it came paired with. 4x12 Not bad to start
on but already want some tubes.
I have leanrned a lot from this forum and would
like to thank everyone for there contributions.

Tokai2.jpg

Tokai3.jpg

Tokai4small.jpg

Tokai5small.jpg

Tokai6small.jpg

Tokai7small.jpg

Welcome Chuck,
Looks like a really nice guitar there. I would say a big step up from the Samick.
LS60 isn't nitro, I believe they are poly.
I like the gotoh pickups and would keep them for now and see how good they sound on your new tube amp. :D

Loudmouse said:
Welcome Chuck,
Looks like a really nice guitar there. I would say a big step up from the Samick.
LS60 isn't nitro, I believe they are poly.