Question about a Tokai Jazz-Sound.

Discussion Area for all things on the down low.

Moderator: ned

Morgoth
Plucker

Question about a Tokai Jazz-Sound.

Post by Morgoth » Sun May 30, 2010 5:53 am

Hi everyone!
I'm new on these forums, but feel already like home though.
I have the opportunity to buy a Tokai Jazz-Sound made in 1979 (well, late 70s / early 80s). Do you think it's genuine?

Link :

http://www.zikinf.com/annonces/dispanno ... nce=545434

More pictures :

Thanks mates. :)

stratman323

Re: Question about a Tokai Jazz-Sound.

Post by stratman323 » Sun May 30, 2010 6:41 am

Morgoth wrote: Do you think it's genuine?
I think so, but I'm a mere guitarist, there are bass players here who are better able to advise you than I am. But the rosewood looks up to Tokai's usual extra high quality, & it has a matching headstock, which makes it pretty rare. Early decal & L serial number means it's from 1981 or 82, assuming the basses follow the same "rules" as the guitars.

Nice. :D

Mike

Morgoth
Plucker

Post by Morgoth » Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:32 am

Thanks for your answer mate.

Anyone else has some thoughts about it?

Fender32
Guitar God

Post by Fender32 » Sun Jun 06, 2010 12:06 pm

From the pictures that you've posted, I'd say that it's 100% early late '70s/'80s Tokai Jazz Sound :) .

The thin, laminated fretboard, the swirly tort pickguard, the "L" prefix serial number, the 3-screw tuners and the headstock logo all fit. The painted headstock is a little unusual, but I expect that Tokai made a few JB45s that way, as well as with the more common plain maple headstock.

Bottom line - if it plays and sounds great, it's probably a genuine Tokai :wink: .
Certified Tokai Jazz Sound whore.

Morgoth
Plucker

Post by Morgoth » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:00 pm

Thanks mate.

I eventually bought it in fact.

And yes, it plays and sounds great, the sound has even exceeded my expectations. Amazing bass!