How do I know if a Greco has Dry Z's in it?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PAF Man

Reaction score
Do I have to pull the pups and look at the backsides? (I'm a newbie here; going to post this in the general section, too.)

Hi,

welcome to the forum ... hope you'll like it ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

villager - our man for the DryZ - will tell you ... :wink:

If you're very impatient - give him a PM ... 8)

... and use the 'search' function please, there are lots of comments ... :wink:

Roger

hey Paf Man, dry z pickups have a "Z" stamped onto the base of the pickup and the dry 1982 pickups have a sticker on the base saying "dry 1982". :D If you are thinking that the black greco you posted would have dry z pups it won't they are only in high end pre 1982 models, the black greco is a low end bolt on neck model and not worth much.I would spend a little more and get a way better model, there are still bargains out there.

thanks, bro. I'm learning fast on this site and had begun to figure that out. Thanks for the input. I'm not a snob -- I just like having nice guitars that don't have inflated prices -- i play G&Ls rather than Fenders. What's the best bag for the buck in the Greco LP used market these days?

Well it depends on what you want to spend, for eg, i recently bought a RR 65 model custom with dry 1982 pups and i paid $480.00 aus for it. it is a cream LP custom style guitar and for the money its awesome, it is a mint collection guitar.These model guitars are always for sale in japan and prices are steadily going up. Keep doing your research {there is plenty of info on this site just do a search}and that should help you make an informed decision,don't be afraid to ask questions as there are a few shonky dealers that will sell you rubbish. :D

Mick, that sounds like an awesome price! :D