real springy sound?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rifke

Reaction score
Hi,

I am offered this guitar as a 1984 springy sound. Is it real?

:-?

The JV serial raises questions (is it a squier?).

http://photobucket.com/albums/c399/jipsfoto/?sc=1&multi=3[/img]

rifke said:
Hi,

I am offered this guitar as a 1984 springy sound. Is it real?

The JV serial raises questions (is it a squier?).

http://photobucket.com/albums/c399/jipsfoto/?sc=1&multi=3[/img]

i am no expert on Tokais springys but i always thought that the Tokais had their truss rod adjustment thingy at the headstock not at the bottom of the neck, and im pretty sure that their serial numers do not start with JV...

im guessing that its a JV squier.. but saying that i have heard nothing but good things about those squiers they are supposed to be really nice....

i havent tried one out personally but have heard plenty people talk about thjem sayin they are great guitars...

From Dave

truss rod at the body end on my 60's replica and 50's as well tho the 50' has a plug at the headstock end, if it is a springy then the plate has been replaced, try and find out if it is really a tokai as there should be a number somethething like this 12=7 plus a couple of initials which should be the coulour bb for black na for natural etc these are under the pickguard.in one of the cavities. should be the same on the neck at the base where the trussrod adjuster is

Something is not right.....

JV serial numbers are Fender's - standing for Japanese Vintage - and were found on both the early Squires and Japanese Fenders - can't recall what year(s) but I think it was between 83 and 85 and yes they are fantastic guitars if you can find them. The string guides on the headstock certainly aren't Springy looking - but they could be aftermarket additions.