Buying a Tokai on a budget

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Placid Casual

Reaction score
Hi, I've been playing guitar for about 2 years on a Westfield Les Paul copy that cost me ?90.

It was a decent enough guitar to learn on but now im thinking about upgrading.
I have a nice amp, it's a Vox AD50VT, I just need a nice guitar to plug into it.

I love Les Paul style guitars, and I've heard lots of good thing about these Tokai guitars.

Now my current budget is around the ?300 price mark, with this I could go for a Tokai ALS48 or an ALS50Q (basically the same guitar with a nice quilt top) They both have PAF Vintake Mk 4 humbuckers.

Is it worth spending ?300 on one of these guitars ?

I've heard that they're excellent quality, way better than Epiphone and that you shouldn't look down on them because they come from Korea.

At the moment I am tempted by this guitar very much, however I recently realised that I could get a Japanese Tokai, with PAF mk 2 pick-ups for less than ?500.

The Tokai LS 65 has better pick-ups, a solid mahogany body with a plain maple top. It will cost me ?450.

Should I save a couple weeks and go for the more expensive LS65, or not being in a band or anything, should I save the money and buy the Korean Tokai ALS50Q ?

The difference between the guitars is ?170 - im thinking that it's probably worth saving and getting the better guitar but I'd appreciate some guidance.

What do you guys think ?

I have 2 Tokais at the moment, with another on the way. All 3 are Japanese, but I have a ALS75Q Les Paul which is brilliant. I haven't owned a Korean made Tokai, and to be honest I avoided them because they have got mixed reviews, but I really don't know how good they are to give a proper opinion.