Newbie Here, ES130 question

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matthew_Eames

Reaction score
Hello...firstly i am a newbie, please be kind i am still learning about this tokai stuff

i have recently been struck by GAS....and got hit bad,

I have been a huge fan of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club for a long time, and have always fancied a Es335 style guitar (emulation i suppose)

I was looking for an epiphone....but then i played one and was hugely dissapointed, it was more expensive than my Mexican Standard Strat but it was such a horrible feeling guitar....i then had a quick go on the "real deal"....a gibson ES335 and was very impressed

unfortunately i do not have ?2350 to spend on a guitar, so i stumbled across tokai...now i like the fact that they Look like gibsons from a distance, and they are obviously miles ahead of a Epi 335

so it has been decided, to suppliment my strat (a very fine guitar in itself) i have decided on an ES130 with Block inlays (prefer that to the dots) in sunburst

the main reason for me looking is that i am sure a 335 will give a different sound to my strat, i also like playing a lot of BRMC songs in my band and that often requires drop tuning (they are not metal or anything though)....which my strat does not like at all (the joys of a floating tremolo bridge)

so the ES130 should fit in nicely as a 2nd guitar (while my strat will take on practice dutys.....leaving the 335 safe at home until it's needed)

and should sound amazing through my Marshall JMP2203 half stack (and my pedalboard...which is being handbuilt by myself...