New Forum User.... and yes, a few Qs! :o)

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveFerguson

Reaction score
Hi,

Just found the forum and thought I'd introduce myself. I've been playing for about 8 years and I have owned a fair number of guitars in that time. At one point, I had about 12 guitars, but during/following a messy divorce, I had to prune my collection down to 1 to fund things like, well food and stuff! That really hurt!

I currently have an Ibanez J-Custom RG8670TB (Or something like that!) and have been very impressed with the quality of workmanship from the Japanese.

Now that things are looking up, I'm looking to start building up my collection again and first on the list is a Les Paul, though I'm after something Japanese rather than a Gibson.

I know you guys must get a shedload of questions about Tokai's numbering system and etc etc, so I have done you the courtesy of actually reading through a load of the forum before blindly stumbling in. I got to about page 25 on this forum and have managed to pick up, I think, the gist of things, so let's see, if I have got it correct...

1. LS denotes Les Paul Std type, LC denotes Les Paul Custom type

2. The model numbers increase as they get better, as it's the rough price point in Yen, which also means that when the price changes in Japan, the model number will change also, so an LS75 from a few years ago may be the same as an LS85 now?

3. Q denotes quilt top, F denotes flame top and S denotes solid finish?

4. SEB denotes Sound Effect Body, which, from what I gather, is made from lots of quartersawn square blocks in a chequerboard effect sandwiched between the top and back?

5. RichTone is the one of the best places to get hold of a Tokai in the UK?

Okay, did I get the basics? :)

So now for my questions, if you'd oblige...