Early 80s Tokai Jazz Sound - Year & Model Identification

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aleks

Reaction score
Hey all, I am a brand new member but have read quite a bit of threads here on MIJ vintage Tokai instruments, really appreciate all the knowledge and experience in this community, making it such a fantastic resource.

Curious to ask your thoughts on the year and exact model of my recently purchased early 80s Tokai Jazz Sound.

Here is the context - I am primarily a guitarist who was looking to pick up a nice bass for my home recording studio, wanted a high-quality instrument without paying the kind of price tags I typically spend on luthier-made archtops and flamenco guitars :)

So, after doing quite a bit of research, I decided to look for a nice vintage MIJ jazz bass copy and ended up picking up an incredible bass from Danny Stewart @ Bass Japan Direct (who is awesome to deal with btw). The bass is a spaghetti-logo Tokai Jazz Sound in immaculate condition (just about mint), all original with the exception of the pickguard. Plays and feels fantastic, really enjoying it.

Danny marked it as a 1982 TJB60, based on the alder body, one piece maple neck with rosewood fingerboard, bridge and tuning machine type. However, in Tokai registry the serial number starting with “000….” points to early 1980.

I know there isn’t a lot of clarity on those old Tokai serial numbers, but I would be very interested to hear your thoughts on year and confirmation of model - I’ll post a few pics and give links to Danny’s original listing and pre-shipment video.

Also, since the bass already had an aftermarket white pickguard which I didn’t quite care for, I asked him to replace it with a metal pickguard, which he did a great job on aging and fitting - it wasn’t an exact retro fit, but very close and the look and feel of the instrument with it is much better, IMHO.