Breezysound Tele Help Please!

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slopic 2

Reaction score
Hello,
I have just registered so this is my first post (please be gentle with me :-? !). I have no real technical knowledge about guitar construction or even to set up properly other than what I've learned on the web.
I have a Tokai Tele which I have owned since 86. I bought it (used) from a shop. I was young & naive and just loved the whole Tele thing/twang at the time and did not notice that the neck was slightly warped.
Not long after buying it I started to move around/different jobs locations etc and my Tokai spent many years safely stored in a hard case.
About five years ago I got interested again but noticed that the neck warp seemed to have got worse and that it was virtually unplayable. A visit to a guitar shop (where I left it for a few days) informed me that the neck should be replaced but in the meantime they had 'packed' a few slivers of wood in the neck pocket to try and align the neck a little better. It was marginally better for a few weeks then worsened again.
I was just about to move to another country so a new neck was not a priority. I took my Tokai with me though it remained in its case for another 5 years. Just recently I started playing again and bought an Allparts Tele maple/rosewood neck but this was a mistake as I should have looked for another all maple 21 vintage fret like the original breezysound. I am now looking for a better replacement.
Any way that's my Tokai tale but what I would like to know is can anyone help me identify the model and year I have. I have looked at the info re dating and ID on the site but it still seems a little unclear.